(Previous distance was 100 miles)
Parental relocation with the child(ren) is difficult for everyone involved, and working with an experienced divorce attorney is the best way to get through the process. The “move-away” law has been changed and now applies to all moves more than 50 miles from the other parent within Tennessee (previous distance was 100 miles), and continues to apply to all moves outside of Tennessee.
VII. NOTICE REGARDING PARENTAL RELOCATION
The Tennessee statute (T.C.A. § 36-6-108) which governs the notice to be given in connection with the relocation of a parent reads in pertinent part as follows:
If a parent who is spending intervals of time with a child desires to relocate outside the state or more than fifty (50) miles from the other parent within the state, the relocating parent shall send a notice to the other parent at the other parent’s last known address by registered or certified mail. Unless excused by the court for exigent circumstances, the notice shall be mailed not later than sixty (60) days prior to the move. The notice shall contain the following:
- Statement of intent to move;
- Location of proposed new residence;
- Reasons for proposed relocation; and
- Statement that the other parent may file a petition in opposition to the move within thirty (30) days of receipt of the notice.